SmartForexExpert

Expert Advisors => SFE FX EAs => Topic started by: Attractor on June 10, 2019, 10:47:30 PM

Title: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on June 10, 2019, 10:47:30 PM

SFE Price Action is an Expert Advisor with a great diversification of operations and different systems working in  several pairs and timeframes at the same time. This increases the chances of sustained growth and reduces exposure to a single pair or individual operations. The risk is very controlled.

Based on own price action rules, no hedge, martingale, grid or any other type of dangerous practices are used, such as not closing failed operations.

You do not need any knowledge, the configuration is very easy and you do not need configuration or optimization work. It is not necessary to be alerted about whether the EA should be enabled or not. Due to its high diversification and low risk, it is safe to leave it always connected.

Counting on a 10-year backtest period and more than 4.0 years of live action since mid-2014, it shows the EA's great adaptability to any type of structural behavior in the market. The robot bases its advantage on intraday volatility, which often occurs independently of market bias.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

MQL5 market: https://www.mql5.com/en/market/product/5716 (https://www.mql5.com/en/market/product/5716)
Myfxbook link: https://www.myfxbook.com/members/autotrade/sfe-price-action/1331484 (https://www.myfxbook.com/members/autotrade/sfe-price-action/1331484)
MQL5 signal: https://www.mql5.com/en/signals/124880 (https://www.mql5.com/en/signals/124880)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on June 29, 2019, 08:56:25 PM
Last version backtest can be found here:

https://c.mql5.com/31/287/SFE_PA_3.0.zip (https://c.mql5.com/31/287/SFE_PA_3.0.zip)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on June 29, 2019, 08:57:49 PM
June performance of the SFE family:

(https://c.mql5.com/31/345/june2019__1.png)

SFE Price Action EA has suffered the worst loss of the year this month.

The EA continues with an admissible level of number of tradings, but the weakness of the movements last months, keeps the EA a far for the last highs and the stagnation period is extending more than expected.

While this kind of soft market continues the EA will contine in trouble to get profits. But soon or later this can change. The golden age for this kind of EAs, begun in 2008 with the last world economical crisis, which leads to the currency markets to a large period of volatility and big movements. Seems that the next big economical crisis can be at the corner, therefore, the currency markets can have storms again and this will benefit this kind of EAs. The price of GOLD breaking the highs of the last years confirms that this new finacial crisis may be very near.

The Average True Range of EURUSD at the lowest values of the century:

(https://c.mql5.com/31/345/eurusd_atr__1.png)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: nok on August 28, 2019, 09:20:20 PM
Could you please add an option in the next update to set the risk based on a given percentage of the balance? e.g. I would like to risk 0.25% per trade instead of a fixed lot because that allows me to better control the risk without guessing the largest possible stop loss distance.
The same would be useful for SFE EURUSD.
Is it possible to predict the max risk for a single pair? e.g. there is a hugh trend detected for EURAUD and trades are opened on M5, M15 and M30. How many trades max. could be open at the same time (which are not already secured with SL in profit)? From the history it looks like 6 (2 on each TF) but I'm not sure.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Jimmy on August 30, 2019, 02:44:22 AM
Hi nok,

Welcome to the forum! I know your question has not been answered for a while now, but I think Joel is just busy with his daily job. He surely will give you a detailed answer over the weekend. :)

From what I know, if you use the Autolot option in SFE Price Action, then the risk taken per trade will be the same percentage across all the different pairs.

This was Joel's explanation some time ago about the Autolot function:

If Autolot is used, the size of the order will be different for pairs with different base currency. The objective is that the same percentage of movement in different pairs, move the same quantity of money in the balance. For example, in the image above, 45.316,98 Ä, representing the 65% of the balance, are assigned to the expert in low risk. This results in a size of 0.42 lots for EURUSD, and 0.36 for GBPUSD. If a movement of 1% happens in the two pairs, the profit of the trades will change the same amount of money. The recommended ratio size/balance if someone want to use fixed size, is about 0.01 lots / 1.000 $ of balance. This is similar to a level of risk between low and moderate. Then, 1.000 $ is the minimal balance recommended for use the expert.

I know you are also asking if you can set a specific risk % for each trade, and while choosing High/Moderate/Low/Very Low risks you can change the level of the risk taken per trade, I am not sure exactly how much risk % per trade each risk level uses. You probably need to wait for Joel's answer on that, and whether he is going to allow users to specifically set the risk % taken per trade in future updates. :)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: nok on August 30, 2019, 12:02:48 PM
Thanks for your answer ccjhuang.

My particular scenario would be a trading opportunity detected by SFE PA for a specific pair that requires a stop loss of e.g. 120 pips. Does SFE PA open less trades in that scenario compared to a trading opportunity that requires only a stop loss of 40 pips?
What I would like to have is an option to limit the overall risk for each ďtrade basketĒ (the sum of all open trades without SL in profit at the same time for a specific pair) because maybe SF PA requires an extreme SL distance of e.g. 250 pips which could exceed my risk level but in a different situation when the required SL is only 60 pips Iím ready to risk a higher lot size.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Jimmy on August 30, 2019, 03:42:17 PM
Those questions are very specific to how the EA is designed, so I believe Joel will be the right person to answer them. :)

But also I think one thing to be careful about, is that if you change too much how the EA is designed to work, then it may not be profitable anymore. I think the main strength of SFE PA is its risk diversification due to many different pairs it trades, and if you start to limit the risk on a basket of trades as a whole, then you may also limit the profitability. I think itís better just to let each individual trade run and let the law of large numbers do its job, rather than treating a group of trades that are open at the same time as a ďbasketĒ. I guess if you donít want to take too much risk you can always just run the account on Autolot with low or very low risk.

Just my two cents but I would be interested to hear what Joel says as well. :)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on September 01, 2019, 03:03:53 AM
Thank you nok this is a very interesting question as well the following commentaries. I will answer tomorrow.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on September 05, 2019, 01:13:53 AM
Could you please add an option in the next update to set the risk based on a given percentage of the balance? e.g. I would like to risk 0.25% per trade instead of a fixed lot because that allows me to better control the risk without guessing the largest possible stop loss distance.
The same would be useful for SFE EURUSD.
Is it possible to predict the max risk for a single pair? e.g. there is a hugh trend detected for EURAUD and trades are opened on M5, M15 and M30. How many trades max. could be open at the same time (which are not already secured with SL in profit)? From the history it looks like 6 (2 on each TF) but I'm not sure.

Hi Nok,
thank for your message, has interested me a lot.

At this moment, my EAs are a group of different strategies, pairs, timeframes inside an EA, and each trade only take care of himself. In this simple way, the EA can have a great diversification if we compare to EAs that bets all in a single trade or in a single bet, accumulating trades of the same  pair and direction.

But there isn't a kind of global management and also there isn't a limited risk of each trade in %. I use the merged inidividual backtest to have an idea of a realistic DD we can get, and in relation to this, I decide the size of the trades for an admisible DD for 'normal' risk, which moves in my mind between 20-30%.

But your message has refreshed the need to try to see if some kind of global manage con improve the EA, or if not improve, at least can give the opportunity of control the risk in a punctual moment in a more accurate way.

And the reflexion about relate the size of the trade with the risk of the trade is an interesting idea and I will study as well.

I will try to advance in the money management / risk aspects in future versions of my EAs. I will keep the forum informed of the advances of my work on this, and any idea is welcome.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: nok on September 06, 2019, 10:04:09 AM
Hi Joel,
thank you for your interest in my suggestion.

I use the expert in a different way and run only a small selection of pairs/timeframes in assistance to my manual trading.
But for the typical user this could be an even more interesting option in a fictive scenario: 8 pairs are connected to the USD and some of them have a high correlation in short term. Letís imagine an extreme move in the USD because of a total unexpected major event (affecting only the US Dollar) that opens trades on all pairs with a very wide stop loss (lets say 200 pips). An immediate (at least partly) retrace causes stop loss in all (at least most) trades. This is not unrealistic because banks are interested to buy/sell the Dollar at extreme levels. Surely we would see moves in the unrelated pairs that could decrease the overall loss (but could even add loses). The supposed diversification could lead to compounded losses.
We canít easily avoid this situation but the %risk could help because I know in advance how much to lose max at a single event. Instead of the fixed lot size, a smaller lot size is used because of the bigger stop loss distances.
Of course there would be additional effort to realize this because when stop loss in pending orders is adjusted the orders would have to be deleted and recreated with new size.

No need for an immediate update. Just a suggestion if you find some time in the future.

Hope that helps.
Best Regards
Title: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: paulomaks on September 26, 2019, 08:55:53 AM
Hi Joel,

I saw in your MyFxBook overview that you run an account at Darwinex ..

https://www.myfxbook.com/members/atractor/sfe-darwinex/3492775

Which EA is that bases on ? SFE Price Action or is it a portfolio, or is it 100% pure Atractor ?

Looks interesting, so i am looking forward to hear your news  :D
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Jimmy on September 26, 2019, 09:20:36 AM
Itís probably another nice new EA that Joelís developing...

I found it on Darwinex under symbol YXY and the name is SFE Stealth ::)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: paulomaks on September 26, 2019, 09:33:19 AM
Itís probably another nice new EA that Joelís developing...

I found it on Darwinex under symbol YXY and the name is SFE Stealth ::)

Wow, looking forward to hear what Joel can tell ...  8) 8)  ... a "mysterious" EA .. ::)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on September 27, 2019, 12:17:53 AM
Itís probably another nice new EA that Joelís developing...

I found it on Darwinex under symbol YXY and the name is SFE Stealth ::)

Wow, looking forward to hear what Joel can tell ...  8) 8)  ... a "mysterious" EA .. ::)

Yes  ::)

Is my last creation 'SFE Stealth'    https://www.myfxbook.com/members/atractor/sfe-stealth/3467690 (https://www.myfxbook.com/members/atractor/sfe-stealth/3467690)

I have to say that his expected performance is outstanding, I have never seen a backtest like this, and seems that the first weeks of real action confirms this. The EA uses and is profitable in a very wide number of pairs, another guarantee of success.

Is what I say 'late session EA', then I'm very happy because with this EA, I have now 3 line of very different and non correlated EAs. Several 'momentum' EAs, the new 'late session EA', and the 'after hours' EA (the SFE Night Scalper)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Byte on September 27, 2019, 01:34:34 AM
That sounds super exciting. Looking forward to hearing more.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: paulomaks on September 27, 2019, 06:36:47 AM
Itís probably another nice new EA that Joelís developing...

I found it on Darwinex under symbol YXY and the name is SFE Stealth ::)

Wow, looking forward to hear what Joel can tell ...  8) 8)  ... a "mysterious" EA .. ::)



Yes  ::)

Is my last creation 'SFE Stealth'    https://www.myfxbook.com/members/atractor/sfe-stealth/3467690 (https://www.myfxbook.com/members/atractor/sfe-stealth/3467690)

I have to say that his expected performance is outstanding, I have never seen a backtest like this, and seems that the first weeks of real action confirms this. The EA uses and is profitable in a very wide number of pairs, another guarantee of success.

Is what I say 'late session EA', then I'm very happy because with this EA, I have now 3 line of very different and non correlated EAs. Several 'momentum' EAs, the new 'late session EA', and the 'after hours' EA (the SFE Night Scalper)

Looks really amazing .. do you have any plans to open a thread here in the forum for that for discussion / selling / signal ?
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Jimmy on September 28, 2019, 03:08:44 PM
Itís probably another nice new EA that Joelís developing...

I found it on Darwinex under symbol YXY and the name is SFE Stealth ::)

Wow, looking forward to hear what Joel can tell ...  8) 8)  ... a "mysterious" EA .. ::)



Yes  ::)

Is my last creation 'SFE Stealth'    https://www.myfxbook.com/members/atractor/sfe-stealth/3467690 (https://www.myfxbook.com/members/atractor/sfe-stealth/3467690)

I have to say that his expected performance is outstanding, I have never seen a backtest like this, and seems that the first weeks of real action confirms this. The EA uses and is profitable in a very wide number of pairs, another guarantee of success.

Is what I say 'late session EA', then I'm very happy because with this EA, I have now 3 line of very different and non correlated EAs. Several 'momentum' EAs, the new 'late session EA', and the 'after hours' EA (the SFE Night Scalper)

Looks really amazing .. do you have any plans to open a thread here in the forum for that for discussion / selling / signal ?

Now I wonder how should I add SFE Stealth to my account once it's available?

May I will wait until SFE EU recovers and makes a new equity high (which should really happen soon after 8 straight months of losses!), then replace it with SFE Stealth. :)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: paulomaks on September 29, 2019, 02:49:32 AM
If the assumption is that the new Stealth is better and makes more and stable profit, what would be the idea of delaying the exchange, i cannot really see that .. ?  :o
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Jimmy on September 29, 2019, 03:39:15 AM
If the assumption is that the new Stealth is better and makes more and stable profit, what would be the idea of delaying the exchange, i cannot really see that .. ?  :o

My theory is that all Joelís EAs will eventually recover, so I am confident SFE EU will recoup the losses at some point, and I donít want to remove the EA until that happens.

Of course I can also just add SFE Stealth into the portfolio, but then in that case I will need to make sure I am not over-exposed with the risk.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on October 20, 2019, 09:18:01 PM
New version (3.1.) also for SFE Price Action will be published tonight.

Backtest  https://c.mql5.com/31/371/SFE_Price_Action_v310_0.1_lots.zip (https://c.mql5.com/31/371/SFE_Price_Action_v310_0.1_lots.zip)

As I commented in the Attractor thread, is well know that PA and ATT are momentum EAs which have different internal systems, some 'straight' that opens in the impulse, and some 'counter' waiting for the failing movement. Las years, the first group of systems are suffering because the movements reversals almost always... Then, in this version of PA, a rebalancing of the internal systems has been done, giving more equal weight at both groups.

At same time, some secondary crosses has been removed, and only the best performers along the years are used now. In a favourable market behaviour, a lot more of symbols can be profitable, but it's true that in a bad behaviour, these 'second line' profitable systems, falls in losses the first.

The last two years of PA, which is almost in a even result, the result would have been +40% selecting these pairs in front to more secondary pairs. I have been thinking for much time that use all the pairs is the best because they can be all profitable at final, but it's true that in markets environments not favourable, this profitability can take years, then, now I think that is better center on the best pairs, although in the best years this can reduce the profit, the performance will be better than now in the bad years.

The recommended risk of the version 3.1 is 0.01 / 600 $
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Jimmy on October 21, 2019, 12:17:19 AM
Hi Joel,

I have updated SFE PA to version 3.1, but in the setting line p25 (just above Fixed Order Size) still says "Recommended: 0.01 lots / 1.000$ of balance", I think you probably just forgot to change it to "0.01 lot per $500"?
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on October 21, 2019, 12:32:09 AM
Hi Joel,

I have updated SFE PA to version 3.1, but in the setting line p25 (just above Fixed Order Size) still says "Recommended: 0.01 lots / 1.000$ of balance", I think you probably just forgot to change it to "0.01 lot per $500"?

Hi, yes is an error that comment. But I can't change it now. Don't mind because is more conservative, I will post the recommended now also in mql5.
Finally I decided to left 0.01 / 600$, a bit more conservative, because the backtest shows a max. DD until 1080$, but often arrives to this level, then, I will fix this level as about 15% of DD.    1.000 / 6.000 * 100 = 16.6%

0.01 / 600 is then the recommended.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Jimmy on October 21, 2019, 12:51:31 AM
Hi Joel,

I have updated SFE PA to version 3.1, but in the setting line p25 (just above Fixed Order Size) still says "Recommended: 0.01 lots / 1.000$ of balance", I think you probably just forgot to change it to "0.01 lot per $500"?

Hi, yes is an error that comment. But I can't change it now. Don't mind because is more conservative, I will post the recommended now also in mql5.
Finally I decided to left 0.01 / 600$, a bit more conservative, because the backtest shows a max. DD until 1080$, but often arrives to this level, then, I will fix this level as about 15% of DD.    1.000 / 6.000 * 100 = 16.6%

0.01 / 6000 is then the recommended.

I think you mean the DD is about $1000 trading 0.1 lot, so it will be good to have a balance of $6000 to keep the DD at about 16%.

0.1 lot per $6000 = 0.01 lot per $600 (you added one zero too many at the end) :)
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on October 21, 2019, 01:07:00 AM
yes, fixed. 0.01 / 600$
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on November 02, 2019, 04:22:22 PM
With the last update of SFE Price Action, I have the feeling the EA will break this stagnation in next months, I have rebalanced some things to get better performance in this environment of weak movements ...

(https://c.mql5.com/31/374/PA__1.png)

Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: nok on December 07, 2019, 08:18:12 PM
How many bars of history does SFE Price Action need?
I would like to optimize my terminal resources.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on December 08, 2019, 10:56:13 PM
How many bars of history does SFE Price Action need?
I would like to optimize my terminal resources.

I use 51.200 in my mt4 (I remove 1 zero), but in all my EAs, probably any of them need more than 1.000-2.000 bars
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: stefanosb on December 18, 2019, 01:52:51 PM
Hi, on official account have you disconnected all gbp pairs?
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Jimmy on December 18, 2019, 09:07:36 PM
Hi, on official account have you disconnected all gbp pairs?

The disconnection on GBP pairs only applies to SFE NS and SFE Stealth. (And you need to enable ďallow web requestĒ in the MT4 setting as explained in this post: https://smartforexexpert.com/index.php?topic=542.msg811#msg811)

SFE Price Action and SFE Attractor will always run all pairs because they are price action based EAs that actually require big movements to make profits.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: stefanosb on January 17, 2020, 10:44:49 AM
hi, I get different results and different operations comparing with official account. I run sfe on icmarkets too.

For example I got GBPJPY operation recently. I attach screenshot. My version is 3.0

Another question. What happen if I add smart forex address on mt4 webrequest?

thank you very much
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: stefanosb on January 18, 2020, 04:59:53 PM
Attractor hi, have you any suggest to resolve this problem? Thank you
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on January 18, 2020, 08:51:26 PM
hi, I get different results and different operations comparing with official account. I run sfe on icmarkets too.

For example I got GBPJPY operation recently. I attach screenshot. My version is 3.0

Another question. What happen if I add smart forex address on mt4 webrequest?

thank you very much

Hi, there is a significant difference in the selection of pairs and timeframes between your version 3.0 and the current version 3.1. I think this can explain these different trades more frequent that the normal. I recommend upgrade to 3.1.

The address on the webrequest only affects Night Scalper and Stealth for the moment.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: stefanosb on January 19, 2020, 08:30:58 AM
Perfect thank you.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: stefanosb on January 19, 2020, 09:54:29 PM
I checked, I have 3.1 version. This is very strange. Now I remove eas and reinstalled it. Active 4 timeframe 5 15 30 1h.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: nok on February 05, 2020, 01:24:55 PM
SFE PA 3.1 apparently was optimized to focus on catching reversals (which is a good idea from my point of view :) ).
* What is the overall relation between trend/reversal trades according to the backtest?
* Are there significant differences on the ratio trend:reversal between the supported pairs?
Thanks for information in advance.
Title: Re: SFE Price Action EA
Post by: Attractor on February 06, 2020, 05:07:22 PM
Be a bit patient until I do the translation of PA to the new mt4-mt5 'clone' libraries, becuase in mt5 I can do the backtest a lot more easy, more accurante, find more realistic improvements, and PA is in queue for this, then I can answer these kind of questions more easy and with updated information.

What I can say for the moment, if you want to do some filter in the current evolution, is that magic numbers beginning by 40,41,42 are 'counter' setups. 43,44,45 are 'straight'