SmartForexExpert

Signals and VPS => VPS => Topic started by: coldvinc on September 02, 2019, 02:49:00 PM

Title: Recommended VPS
Post by: coldvinc on September 02, 2019, 02:49:00 PM
Since an EA needs to run 24/5. A VPS is an indispensable tool for the SFE EAs. That is why I want to ask those that are using EAs and specifically the SFE EAs which VPS' they recommend?
Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: Jimmy on September 02, 2019, 11:21:56 PM
Since an EA needs to run 24/5. A VPS is an indispensable tool for the SFE EAs. That is why I want to ask those that are using EAs and specifically the SFE EAs which VPS' they recommend?

I am using Commercial Network Services VPS which is “On Net” with IC Markets and the latency is supposed to be less than 1ms. :)
Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: coldvinc on September 03, 2019, 09:17:50 AM
Interesting, thanks for your response. Will have a look.
Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: Attractor on September 05, 2019, 01:35:41 AM
For the SFE EAs, enter some seconds before of after don't have to be relevant.

I use this cheap VPS Cloud Ram 1 and I have 6 metatraders in the VPS without problem 24x7 and without restart the VPS never. You can chose a datacenter in canada, that is very near of NY, where a lot of brokers have his datacenters.

https://www.ovh.co.uk/vps/vps-cloud-ram.xml

If you manage other EAs, then maybe this VPS is not enough (for open 5-6 metatraders) , because my EAs are very lightweight in CPU and RAM consumption, but other EAs maybe are not the case.

Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: paulomaks on November 14, 2019, 10:30:42 PM
In another post i have mentioned that i am of the belief that Virtual Servers (VPS) is not good in forex. But 100% dedicated servers are.

I just came across this company. I dont know them, but homepage looks decent, and so do the prices. So i thought i should pass it on here.

https://dedicated.com/

For me, i use Codero, but they seems a bit more expensive.

https://codero.com/
Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: paulomaks on November 26, 2019, 10:45:59 PM
Hi to Everyone.

Thought i would share this link with you.

A friend of mine took one with 32GB Ram and allowed me to log in. Never seen anything as fast before. Think the prices has come to a decent price level. I dont know the company in any details.

https://turnkeyinternet.net/blackfriday/

Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: Jimmy on November 27, 2019, 12:32:48 AM
Hi to Everyone.

Thought i would share this link with you.

A friend of mine took one with 32GB Ram and allowed me to log in. Never seen anything as fast before. Think the prices has come to a decent price level. I dont know the company in any details.

https://turnkeyinternet.net/blackfriday/

Looks nice, dedicated server for $9 per month. I am a bit tempted...::)

Their server is also located in NY which is close to IC Markets. Have you tested and see what their latency is to IC Markets?
Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: paulomaks on November 27, 2019, 01:24:41 PM
Hi to Everyone.

Thought i would share this link with you.

A friend of mine took one with 32GB Ram and allowed me to log in. Never seen anything as fast before. Think the prices has come to a decent price level. I dont know the company in any details.

https://turnkeyinternet.net/blackfriday/


Looks nice, dedicated server for $9 per month. I am a bit tempted...::)

Their server is also located in NY which is close to IC Markets. Have you tested and see what their latency is to IC Markets?

No I have not . My friend who took this offer is also a forex Trader but does not use ICM (he is American) .. and i am actually in doubt which location he has (chosen server location). I just checked his ping and enclose a screenshot.  But at another note, personally i dont believe in the "theory" that low latency has any impact in the long run, unless you are high frequency trader. Spread and processor speed is must more important in my opinion.
Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: nok on February 06, 2020, 12:07:08 PM
There is an additional EA activation required for each hardware (and major OS) upgrade.
Is anyone of you guys already using a VPS for a very long time without having to spend an additional activation?
VPS are virtualized machines (VMWARE or HyperV) but I wonder if there is an additional activation required when the provider changes hardware of the server that are running these virtualized machines?!
Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: Jimmy on February 08, 2020, 04:45:25 AM
There is an additional EA activation required for each hardware (and major OS) upgrade.
Is anyone of you guys already using a VPS for a very long time without having to spend an additional activation?
VPS are virtualized machines (VMWARE or HyperV) but I wonder if there is an additional activation required when the provider changes hardware of the server that are running these virtualized machines?!

I once had a migration at CNS (Commercial Network Services) where they migrated my VPS to BEEKS NY Data Centre. After the migration I had to use a new activation to be able to use the EAs again. :(

I think if it's just RAM and CPU upgrade then that shouldn't require additional activation. But I am not 100% sure.
Title: Re: Recommended VPS
Post by: nok on February 12, 2020, 06:58:30 AM
Thanks Jimmy, I had the same issue with CNS/Beeks last year as they gave me a new VPS because they could not migrate it.
But last weekend I requested a CPU/RAM upgrade of my Beeks VPS and I can confim that it was successful without having to spend an additional activation. ;D