Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

August 12, 2020, 02:20:16 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Shoutbox

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 790
  • Total Topics: 71
  • Online Today: 21
  • Online Ever: 144
  • (August 14, 2019, 12:20:12 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 6
Total: 6

6 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Recommended VPS  (Read 3536 times)

coldvinc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Recommended VPS
« on: September 02, 2019, 02:49:00 PM »
Since an EA needs to run 24/5. A VPS is an indispensable tool for the SFE EAs. That is why I want to ask those that are using EAs and specifically the SFE EAs which VPS' they recommend?
Fighting my way to Financial Independence: http://Https://www.fighttofire.com

Jimmy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2019, 11:21:56 PM »
Since an EA needs to run 24/5. A VPS is an indispensable tool for the SFE EAs. That is why I want to ask those that are using EAs and specifically the SFE EAs which VPS' they recommend?

I am using Commercial Network Services VPS which is “On Net” with IC Markets and the latency is supposed to be less than 1ms. :)

[COPY SFE Signal on Social Trader Tools]

[COPY SFE MAM on Social Trader Tools]
SFE Accounts Live Stream: http://bit.ly/sfelive
SFE Community Telegram: https://t.me/sfecommunity
Risk Warning: This message contains general information which doesn't take into account your personal objectives, financial situation or needs. Trading isn't suitable for everyone and, if you're a professional/wholesale client, you could lose more than your initial investment. Please read the relevant legal documents and seek independent advice if necessary.

coldvinc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2019, 09:17:50 AM »
Interesting, thanks for your response. Will have a look.
Fighting my way to Financial Independence: http://Https://www.fighttofire.com

Attractor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
    • SmartForexExpert
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2019, 01:35:41 AM »
For the SFE EAs, enter some seconds before of after don't have to be relevant.

I use this cheap VPS Cloud Ram 1 and I have 6 metatraders in the VPS without problem 24x7 and without restart the VPS never. You can chose a datacenter in canada, that is very near of NY, where a lot of brokers have his datacenters.

https://www.ovh.co.uk/vps/vps-cloud-ram.xml

If you manage other EAs, then maybe this VPS is not enough (for open 5-6 metatraders) , because my EAs are very lightweight in CPU and RAM consumption, but other EAs maybe are not the case.


paulomaks

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2019, 10:30:42 PM »
In another post i have mentioned that i am of the belief that Virtual Servers (VPS) is not good in forex. But 100% dedicated servers are.

I just came across this company. I dont know them, but homepage looks decent, and so do the prices. So i thought i should pass it on here.

https://dedicated.com/

For me, i use Codero, but they seems a bit more expensive.

https://codero.com/

paulomaks

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2019, 10:45:59 PM »
Hi to Everyone.

Thought i would share this link with you.

A friend of mine took one with 32GB Ram and allowed me to log in. Never seen anything as fast before. Think the prices has come to a decent price level. I dont know the company in any details.

https://turnkeyinternet.net/blackfriday/


Jimmy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2019, 12:32:48 AM »
Hi to Everyone.

Thought i would share this link with you.

A friend of mine took one with 32GB Ram and allowed me to log in. Never seen anything as fast before. Think the prices has come to a decent price level. I dont know the company in any details.

https://turnkeyinternet.net/blackfriday/

Looks nice, dedicated server for $9 per month. I am a bit tempted...::)

Their server is also located in NY which is close to IC Markets. Have you tested and see what their latency is to IC Markets?

[COPY SFE Signal on Social Trader Tools]

[COPY SFE MAM on Social Trader Tools]
SFE Accounts Live Stream: http://bit.ly/sfelive
SFE Community Telegram: https://t.me/sfecommunity
Risk Warning: This message contains general information which doesn't take into account your personal objectives, financial situation or needs. Trading isn't suitable for everyone and, if you're a professional/wholesale client, you could lose more than your initial investment. Please read the relevant legal documents and seek independent advice if necessary.

paulomaks

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2019, 01:24:41 PM »
Hi to Everyone.

Thought i would share this link with you.

A friend of mine took one with 32GB Ram and allowed me to log in. Never seen anything as fast before. Think the prices has come to a decent price level. I dont know the company in any details.

https://turnkeyinternet.net/blackfriday/


Looks nice, dedicated server for $9 per month. I am a bit tempted...::)

Their server is also located in NY which is close to IC Markets. Have you tested and see what their latency is to IC Markets?

No I have not . My friend who took this offer is also a forex Trader but does not use ICM (he is American) .. and i am actually in doubt which location he has (chosen server location). I just checked his ping and enclose a screenshot.  But at another note, personally i dont believe in the "theory" that low latency has any impact in the long run, unless you are high frequency trader. Spread and processor speed is must more important in my opinion.

nok

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2020, 12:07:08 PM »
There is an additional EA activation required for each hardware (and major OS) upgrade.
Is anyone of you guys already using a VPS for a very long time without having to spend an additional activation?
VPS are virtualized machines (VMWARE or HyperV) but I wonder if there is an additional activation required when the provider changes hardware of the server that are running these virtualized machines?!

Jimmy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2020, 04:45:25 AM »
There is an additional EA activation required for each hardware (and major OS) upgrade.
Is anyone of you guys already using a VPS for a very long time without having to spend an additional activation?
VPS are virtualized machines (VMWARE or HyperV) but I wonder if there is an additional activation required when the provider changes hardware of the server that are running these virtualized machines?!

I once had a migration at CNS (Commercial Network Services) where they migrated my VPS to BEEKS NY Data Centre. After the migration I had to use a new activation to be able to use the EAs again. :(

I think if it's just RAM and CPU upgrade then that shouldn't require additional activation. But I am not 100% sure.

[COPY SFE Signal on Social Trader Tools]

[COPY SFE MAM on Social Trader Tools]
SFE Accounts Live Stream: http://bit.ly/sfelive
SFE Community Telegram: https://t.me/sfecommunity
Risk Warning: This message contains general information which doesn't take into account your personal objectives, financial situation or needs. Trading isn't suitable for everyone and, if you're a professional/wholesale client, you could lose more than your initial investment. Please read the relevant legal documents and seek independent advice if necessary.

nok

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Recommended VPS
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2020, 06:58:30 AM »
Thanks Jimmy, I had the same issue with CNS/Beeks last year as they gave me a new VPS because they could not migrate it.
But last weekend I requested a CPU/RAM upgrade of my Beeks VPS and I can confim that it was successful without having to spend an additional activation. ;D