Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

January 27, 2020, 12:52:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Shoutbox

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 571
  • Total Topics: 60
  • Online Today: 20
  • Online Ever: 144
  • (August 14, 2019, 12:20:12 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 18
Total: 18

18 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: VPS - Metatrader Setup Tricks  (Read 330 times)

Attractor

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • SmartForexExpert
VPS - Metatrader Setup Tricks
« on: December 08, 2019, 10:52:57 PM »
1. Mt4 don't deal well with virtualizations multicore, then in VPS with more than 1 core, the performance of the platform can reduce a lot. I can confirm with my experience that this happens, at least happened to me in the past. For this reason, now I only use VPS with 1 core, although is difficult find VPS with 1 core in the market.

issue description and how to fix in multicore:

https://newyorkcityservers.com/billing/index.php?rp=/knowledgebase/60/Optimize-MT4-For-Multi-Core-VPS-Plans.html

2. Bars stored in history and charts. It's not necessary put a very low number, but  the default number is by large more than necessary when you only use the VPS for run EAs and not backtesting.

Then, in my VPS, I remove 1 zero from history bars, from 512.000 to 51.200, and in the charts bar I set 10.000

3. Leave only the necessary symbols in the market watch.

Following these 3 steps, I run smoothly up to 5-6 platforms in basic VPS. The platforms uses my EAS, which is know that don't process in every tick. I don't know if for more heavy demand EAs this can be this way, probably not...

Castellers de Vilafranca

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: VPS - Metatrader Setup Tricks
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2019, 11:17:39 PM »
Thank you very much for this information. I have made the changes but will wait for Gold trades to close before looking into my problem any further!! Good luck with new highs!! :)

nok

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: VPS - Metatrader Setup Tricks
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2019, 10:55:44 AM »
Very interesting, thanks a lot for sharing.

That might be the cause for the strange MT4 behaviour in my 2-core VPS:
Sometimes a MT4 terminal freezes for minutes completely except the market watch clock which still counts the seconds smoothly. After a while everything is fine again without having to restart the terminal-process.
Anyone having similar issues? Did you have exactly the same issue Joel?

I think it could make sense not assigning all terminals to cpu 0?!

YoG12

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: VPS - Metatrader Setup Tricks
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2019, 01:19:20 AM »
Very interesting, thanks a lot for sharing.

That might be the cause for the strange MT4 behaviour in my 2-core VPS:
Sometimes a MT4 terminal freezes for minutes completely except the market watch clock which still counts the seconds smoothly. After a while everything is fine again without having to restart the terminal-process.
Anyone having similar issues? Did you have exactly the same issue Joel?

I think it could make sense not assigning all terminals to cpu 0?!

I had same problem long time.
But I upgraded VPS server spec then it was gone.

In my experience,
MT4 freeze is caused by CPU not memory.
I recommend to survey your CPU Bench Score using cpu-z software.
https://www.cpuid.com/downloads/cpu-z/cpu-z_1.91-en.zip

How to Bench your CPU.
Exec CPU-Z --> Bench Tab --> Bench CPU.

In my case,
Old VPS server's "CPU Single Thread" score was around 50 and 100.
I had contracted 2 VPS server. One was 3 MT4 installed and other was 5 MT4 installed.

Current new VPS "CPU Single Thread" score is over 300.
As a result, now I integrated 2 VPS server and run 8 MT4 processes.
But I don't experience freeze anymore.


Hope my exprerience helps someone.

Attractor

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • SmartForexExpert
Re: VPS - Metatrader Setup Tricks
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2019, 11:33:14 PM »
Very interesting, thanks a lot for sharing.

That might be the cause for the strange MT4 behaviour in my 2-core VPS:
Sometimes a MT4 terminal freezes for minutes completely except the market watch clock which still counts the seconds smoothly. After a while everything is fine again without having to restart the terminal-process.
Anyone having similar issues? Did you have exactly the same issue Joel?

I think it could make sense not assigning all terminals to cpu 0?!

I can't remember the exact sympthoms but the VPS worked like a turtle although had a good specs. Then, the VPS worked 'normal' if I assign all the mt4 threads to the same CPU or each mt4 thread to an unique and different CPU. Was when different mt4 can access to more than 1 cpu when something wrong happened. This issue has been documented, I don't know if today is still that serious, because now I only have VPS with 1 CPU  ;D